Sir Peter Blake Trust Leadership Week - Young Leadership Award winners

Sir Peter Blake Trust Leadership Week - Young Leadership Award winners

Sir Peter Blake Trust Leadership Week - Young Leadership Award winners

Students have been recognised for leadership qualities with a Sir Peter Blake Young Leader Award.


460 schools from Northland to Bluff are celebrating their aspiring year 5 to 8 leaders. The Young Leader Awards, in association with Westpac, acknowledge young people whose outstanding leadership uplifts the school community.


This year’s nominations include stories of children who are natural leaders as well as those who work hard leading Kapa Haka or volunteering their time to community groups.

 Shelley Campbell, CEO of the Sir Peter Blake Trust says,“ Sir Peter taught us that great leadership can achieve extraordinary things.  This award aims to nurture and celebrate leadership in our young people.

 “The qualities these children display; humility, humour, inclusiveness, positivity and a team approach were all shown by Sir Peter himself,” she says.


Students were presented with a prize pack, certificate and Sir Peter Blake Medal. The young leaders were nominated by either their class or a teacher.


To find out more about the Sir Peter Blake Young Leader Awards and other 2016 Leadership Week visit


2016 Young Leadership Recipients Southland + Otago

Clinton School Renata Herrera-Rojas 8
Clutha Valley School Danyon Benington 8
Cromwell College Jayde Wilson 8
Cromwell Primary School Angus Drinnan 6
Fairfield School (Dunedin) Aroha Martin 8
Pine Hill School (Dunedin) Denzel Pompey-Duffy 6
Remarkables Primary School Johannes MacKay 8
Shotover Primary School Lochie Daish 5
St Joseph's School (Oamaru) Yneke Edzes 8
St Joseph's School (Queenstown) Alex Thomson 8
Tahuna Normal Intermediate Meg Sayers 8
Tarras School Jack Willson 8
Waiwera South School Ally Ward 8
Andersons Bay School Noah McDowall 6
Blue Mountain College Cheyanne Candy 8
Columba College Brianna Horne 8
George Street Normal School Charlotte Osborne 6
Glenorchy School Lucy Glover 8
Heriot School Elizabeth Lamb 6
Kaikorai Valley College Vajk Peter 8
Kaitangata School Gemma Johnson 8
Liberton Christian School Freya Pettigrew 8
Milton School Zoe McElrea 6
Mt Aspiring College Meg Thomas 8
Queenstown Primary School Abbey Dunn 8
Roxburgh Area School Ben Robb 8
St Mary's School (Mosgiel) Benjamin Baines 8
Taieri College Marcel Du Toit 8
Tokomairiro High School Ally-Mae Michelle 7
Longford Intermediate Haylee McCormack 8
Dipton School Aaron Withy 8
Fiordland College Lydia Soper 8
James Hargest College Jack Robson 8
Otautau School Timothy Lawry 8
Southland Girls' High School Sophie Steel 8
Takitimu Primary School Dallas Wilton 8
Tokanui School Jonson Tatana 8
Bluff School Jasmyn Pollock 8
East Gore School Kaden Harris 6
Fernworth Primary School Joshua Kipa-Thomson 6
Gorge Road School Ellie Smith 6
Hauroko Valley Primary School Sarah Slee 6
Heddon Bush School Jack Day 8
Invercargill Middle School Bree Hope-Johnstone 6
Limehills School Josh van der Poel 8
Lochiel School Madison Kyle 6
Lumsden School Cade McLachlan 6
Makarewa School Liam Tait 6
Mossburn School Grace Duthie 6
Northern Southland College Megan Lowe 8
Riverton School Tahla Ward 6
Te Anau School Franki Campbell 6
Tuturau Primary School Kate Perkins 6
Waianiwa School Abbie Middlemass 6
Waiau Area School Tekoa Mangion 8
Winton School Maisie Annabel McGregor 8
Woodlands Full Primary School Garoth van der Straaten 8
[email protected]
Call Us
Southland: 03 208 9325
Ashburton: 03 307 8927
Taranaki: 06 759 2460
Follow Us on Twitter